Keeping History Alive
The collection of buildings began life in 1938 as a Public Works Department camp built to accommodate married men who were working on the Hollyford-Okuru Road.
In the late 1940s the camp was used by holiday-makers. With the exception of the new kitchen and lounge facilities, plus new bunkrooms, little has changed to this day.
Today Gunn's Camp is run by a charitable trust, the aim of which is to keep this unique piece of New Zealand history alive.
See this piece of history for yourself
Go 'back in time' and enjoy the peace and tranquility of this historic camp.
Hollyford Camp is a monument to the tough and hardy roadbuilders and their families, and to the amazing Davey Gunn and his remarkable son Murray.
Read more about the Camp's history, Davey and Murray Gunn and their passion for this area.
Make sure to spend some time in the museum during your stay.
Wonder at the difficulties encountered by the men building the Milford Road and Homer Tunnel. Learn about the origins of this unique camp.